Borrowing Clothes


do you see me, taking this hour glass
and pouring out the sand
cause something I can’t stand is waiting for you
do you see me, watching the TV
the channels slowly scan
I crush the next beer can, while waiting for you
something comes inside the mail
a vintage thought, a fairy tale
it all unfolds to show that I can’t win


today I took my shirt and held it close to me
I understand the reservations of this deed
but I want you to know, I want you to know
that even if the story doesn’t go my way
at least my name’s still on the page
and know I’m holding that shirt still today


and as always, I started writing things
the metafiction swelled
and something I don’t know, is where you are
I can see you, your never smiling
I love that I can’t tell
what’s going through your mind, it’s where you are
and then you see her walking by
you step in pattern with her stride
and I don’t know if I should cry or cheer you on


today I took my shirt and held it close to me
I understand the reservations of this deed
but I want you to know, I want you to know
that even if the story doesn’t go my way
at least my name’s still on the page
and know I’m holding that shirt still today


something shatters like a mirror
the pieces are all crystal clear
so I can’t see them when I’m near
they slice into my toes
so I’m walking on broken glass
a story that’s been told in past
and though the pain is gone quite fast
I know effects will show, and I want you to know
I’ve never been more alone


today I took my shirt and held it close to me
I understand the reservations of this deed
but I want you to know, I want you to know
that even if the story doesn’t go my way
at least my name’s still on the page
and know I’m holding that shirt still today


do you see me, taking this hour glass
and pouring out the sand

Leave a Reply

