What Wasn’t and Never Could Have Been


It was something of a game, how the glances always came
and I knew that one day I’d know your name
but as quickly as it’d start, I’d be left out in the dark
though you gave me a warning, I went ahead an parked
Yet the signals were there, there was something we shared
I think we needed vacations from what we were scared of
and I don’t know if I’m to blame or if it’s all your fault
but now it’s gotten somewhat lame, and now I feel like I’m caught


CHORUS: I don’t want to keep going
                  but I can’t stop
                  Cause I’m riding full throttle
                  aiming straight for the top
                  but it’s true, that the tunes on the radio determine the speed
                  and I can’t find a romance when the only one looking is me


Now you’re still coming by, when it’s late at the night
I tell you about parties and we’re friends, so alright
I can keep up my plan, if I just stick hand in hand
I’ll help you all of he way, I’ll do whatever I can
But it’s not meant to be, cause now I’m just pulling weeds
and doing all the work for you but I just don’t want to see the truth
so even if I’m there for you, you can’t guarantee your time
but I keep trying just to prove that I haven’t been wasting all mine


CHORUS


Here we are, far away, from that class room where our eyes first met
and I’d long to return, to those days when the mystery burned
but it’s cool I guess if you keep heading west, and I’m stuck here in my heart
and if you’d want to return, I’d probably give you concern
but could I ever trust the game not to start?


So lets not screw up this painting, lets still be friends
and i’ll try not to worry about what wasn’t and never could have been.


CHORUS


So lets not screw up this painting, lets still be friends
and i’ll try not to worry about what wasn’t and never could have been.

Leave a Reply

