I have a small obsession with my own Generation Gap.  I am a member of Generation XY, it falls between the other two.  The class of 2000 and surrounding years.  In doing my research I’ve found a number of hopeful endings and a number of scary realizations.  People don’t grow up like they used to.  My generation has a lack of feeling.  These may seem like obvious things to some, but I’m very interested in it all.  I also read this, which traumatized me for a few minutes.

  • In the novel Generation X: Tales for an Accelerated Culture, author Douglas Coupland defines “mid-twenties breakdown” as

    A period of mental collapse occurring in one’s twenties, often caused by an inability to function outside of school or structured environments, coupled with a realisation of one’s essential aloneness in the world. Often marks induction into the ritual of pharmaceutical usage.

  • Advertisements

    One thought on “

    Leave a Reply

    